Deniz Karaca is the Savour Patissier of the Year for 2016

Deniz Karaca

Deniz Karaca’s winning tart – Photo by Richard Weinstein

The best Australian and international patissiers battled it out to prove whose talents are indeed the sweetest at a new competition that was run this week.

The first annual Savour Patissier of the Year competition was held at Foodservice Australia from 22 “ 24 May, with 30 of the nation s brightest pastry chefs presenting up their best macarons, tarts, eclairs and entremets, in an attempt to win a share in over $42,000 of cash and prizes.

Created by Kirsten Tibballs, owner of Savour Chocolate and Patisserie School and widely considered one of the world s greatest pastry chefs, the competition has been designed to showcase the creations of talented pastry chefs from around the world – and to give those competing exposure to some of the most internationally renowned pastry chefs on the planet.

Eigen Ting | Winning Macaron

Eigen Ting’s winning macaron – Photo by Richard Weinstein

No stranger to competition herself, Kirsten has competed internationally at the World Pastry Championships in Las Vegas and the Pastry Olympics in Germany, and has set the standard for desserts amongst MasterChef contestants as a regular guest Chef and mentor. Her international experiences resulted in her wanting to create something similar at home.

œI really wanted to establish a professional industry competition where the crème de la crème of pastry chefs could showcase their talent and really get recognition for their craft, she explains. œThis competition is the first of its kind in the industry, and is designed to provide a platform to gain really relevant, valuable experience, and exposure to the world s best.

Julien Alvarez

Judge Julien Alvarez – Photo by Richard Weinstein

The line-up of judges was as intimidating as it was impressive for those competing, with World Chocolate Master Frank Haasnoot, World Champion pastry chef Julien Alvarez, Best Chocolates in the World creator Paul Kennedy, and winner of the Pastry World Cup Jordi Bordas, who joined emcee Kirsten to critique the sweet delights that were presented.

œCompetition was fierce, with an exceptionally high standard by all competitors. Classic flavours with innovative designs are products that impressed the judges the most, Kirsten says, œBut the victory was the sweetest kind there is “ in every sense of the word! The judges tasted 120 individual products over the 3 days of competition. Paul Kennedy, competition judge and executive pastry chef at Savour Chocolate & Patisserie School said, œThere was a vast difference in flavours, particularly flavours based on the culture of the entrant. Some combinations of flavours were outstanding and some missed the mark.

The category winners included:

Tarts “ Deniz Karaca
Macarons “ Eigen Ting
Eclairs “ Deniz Karaca
Entremets “ Philip Khoury

At the conclusion of this exciting event, Deniz Karaca was crowned Savour Patissier of the Year for 2016. 

See our 2016 Hall of Fame for all the winners from the event.

Deniz Karaca

Deniz Karaca winner of Savour Patissier of the Year – Photo by Richard Weinstein

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *