The Winners of Savour Patissier of the Year 2017

Savour Patissier of the YearThe best pastry chefs from around the globe traveled to Melbourne, to battle it out at the second annual Savour Patissier of the Year competition.


Held at Foodservice Australia from 28-30 May, the competition welcomed finalists of the highest calibre Рeach plating up their very best ̩clairs, tarts, entremets and desserts, for a shot at winning over $50,000 in cash and prizes, along with a trip to train at Ravifruit studio with Marike Van Beurden. The winner also taking home a trip to Ghana, where they will visit a cocoa plantation, all thanks to Callebaut, a platinum sponsor of the competition.



The group of patisserie professionals battled it out over three days, showcasing their skills and expertise before a world-class judging panel which included; World Pastry Cup Winner, author and TV star Christophe Michalak, winner of Best Pastry Chef in the World Jordi Roca, owner of Bachour Bakery and Bistro in Miami Antonio Bachour and Winner of Best Chocolates in the World and Savour s very own, Paul Kennedy.



Kirsten Tibballs, who is owner of Savour Chocolate and Patisserie School, competition founder and widely considered one of the world s greatest pastry chefs was host across the event and was nothing short of impressed by what she experienced.
Savour Patissier of the Year - Richard WeinsteinœThis year, finalists were world class and the level of skill that went into all of the creations was outstanding, Kirsten said. œEach of the competitors plated up their very best in innovation, design and flavour, and it was mesmerising to watch the room of pastry chefs, each wholly concentrated on the task at hand.



The judges tasted well over one hundred individual products across the three days of competition. Paul Kennedy, competition judge and Savour s very own executive pastry chef said, œThe competition this year was exceptional, displaying a range of different flavour combinations and product designs “ with colour being a huge element across each of the product categories. At times, judging was difficult “ highlighting the outstanding skill set of each finalist.



In a nail-biting finale, the competitor with the highest combined score across each of the categories, Santiago Cuyugan was named the 2017 Savour Patissier of the Year and category winners included:


Bulla Family Dairy Desserts “ Alessandro Bartesaghi

Mix n Make Tarts “ Vincent Denis

Callebaut Entremets “ Santiago Cuyugan

Ravifruit Eclairs “ Joshua Cochrane


Of the event, Kirsten said, œThe support surrounding this year s competition was exceptional and I was truly honoured to have had the world s best attend. I established the competition as a platform to recognise and showcase the talent of young pastry chefs and this year s event has left me truly excited for what the future of this great industry holds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *